Music: New Zealand talent on the rise!

New Zealand is not really known for having a prospering international music industry, especially when you compare it to the Australian mammoth music industry which has produced international superstars such as Kylie Minogue, Delta Goodrem and Jason Donovan.
Ladyhawke is potentially the most successful New Zealand break-through act at least in terms of a British audience, but for me New Zealand music is far an away more interesting than its Australian counter-part.
This is, I admit, is a shameful plug for the music industry for my second home-country but here are some of the kiwi artists I just can’t stop listening to.

1. Gin Wigmore
She exploded onto the New Zealand music scene back in 2009 when she collaborated with NZ hip-hop/rap group Smashproof with the song “Brother”. It was number one in New Zealand for a total of eleven weeks, the longest consecutive run at number one for a home-grown act in NZ music history. She built on that success with her follow-up single “Oh My” and her debut album “Holy Smoke” which gained quadruple platinum status. She has just released her second album, “Gravel and Wine” and is expected to release her first British single soon.

Gin has been one of my favourite NZ artists since I found her Extended Play tracks on Youtube. Her voice is smokey and her lyrics not only interesting but full of depth and emotion. She manages to put her personality into every performance, in my opinion an exceptional talent.

Gin Wigmore – Oh My

Gin Wigmore – Hey Ho

Gin Wigmore – Black Sheep

2. Kimbra
Kimbra is not a completely unknown entity for a British audience. She was the featured artist on possibly the most unlikely big hit of the summer “Somebody that I Used to Know” by Gotye but she has been slowly making a name for herself in New Zealand for quite some time. Hailing from Hamilton (where my mother grew up) she released her debut album in August last year which has brought her own unusual type of pop with interesting and exciting vocal performances to the New Zealand music scene.

Kimbra is another NZ artist that I’ve been following for quite some time since here early youtube videos for “Settle Down” and “Cameo Lover”. In my opinion she is New Zealand’s answer to Florence and the Machine and a far more interesting Bjork.

Kimbra feat. Mark Foster and A-Trak – Warrior

Kimbra – Settle Down

Kimbra – Good Intent

3. Ladi6
Mixing many different sounds from hip-hop, reggae and neo soul to pop, funk and pacifika, Ladi6 has had significant success in New Zealand, particularly with her second album “The Liberation of…” and her recent single “Like Water”. She has been hailed as New Zealand’s answer to Erykah Badu.

I must have listen to “Like Water” about a thousand times since I first heard it about six months ago. I never get tired of it and it’s one of those great songs that has so many levels. Perfect.

Ladi6 – Like Water

Stay tuned for more great kiwi acts soon.
Let me know what you think in the comments section.

Leave a comment